Thomaston Special Election Nov. 3

Qualifying to fill District 3 seat underway

First Posted: 5:53 am - September 19th, 2015 Updated: 5:53 am - September 19th, 2015.

By Larry Stanford - lstanford@civitasmedia.com

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The City of Thomaston will hold a Special Election to fill the vacated District3 council seat. The Special Election will be held at the same time and place as the General Election on Tuesday, November 3, 2015.

Thomaston City Clerk Clint Chastain read the public notice of the election to the City Council at their meeting Tuesday.

“The public is hereby notified that a Special Election for the City of Thomaston will be held at the Civic Center on November 3, 2015, along with the General Election. Special Election will be held for the purpose of electing one councilmember for District 3 to fill the unexpired term of Council member J. D. Stallings. The unexpired term will end December 31, 2017. Qualifications for said election will open on Thursday, September 17, 2015 at 8:30 a.m., and will end on Monday, September 21, 2015 at 12:30 p.m. The hours for qualifying will be from 8:30 a.m. until 12:30 p.m. and from 1:30 p.m. until 4:30 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 17, and Friday, Sept. 18, and from 8:30 a.m. until 12:30 p.m. on Monday, Sept. 21. The fee to qualify for District 3 is $72.

Former District 3 council member J. D. Stallings resigned earlier this month in order to run for Mayor of Thomaston. State law does not allow a council member to maintain his or her office while running for a different political office.

Ryan Tucker, President of United Bank in Thomaston, has announced his intention to run for the District 3 post. No one else has yet to announce if they are running.

Besides the District 3 voting in the Special Election, in the General Election, Thomaston residents in Districts 1 and 2 will be casting votes, and all Thomaston residents will be voting on the position of Mayor.

In the Mayor’s race, in addition to J. D. Stallings, Rev. Coleman Dumas III has also qualified. Longtime Mayor Hays Arnold announced last year he would not be running for re-election again.

In the District 1 race, incumbent Gary Atwater will be facing challenger LaKeitha Reeves.

In the District 2 race, incumbent Patsy Perdue will take on challengers Jeff Middlebrooks and Carl McKinney.

Residents in the City of Yatesville will not have to go to the polls on November 3, even though the positions of mayor and two council posts are up for grabs. That’s because only one person qualified for each of the positions. Incumbent Mayor Cecil Moncrief declined to run again, and Jim Maddox was the only person to qualify for Mayor. Council member Shane Moore qualified for another term, and Chris Mullin qualified to fill the council seat being vacated by Phyl Gatlin, who chose not to run again.

At the Yatesville City Council meeting Monday, Mayor Moncrief stated the new members will be sworn into office at the December 8 meeting.

“Judge McRae will swear you in at the December meeting, and you’ll take office January 1,” said Moncrief.

Larry Stanford may be reached at 706-647-5414 or on Twitter @LarryStanford7.

Qualifying to fill District 3 seat underway

By Larry Stanford




Stock Market

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com