City qualifying opening soon

J. D. Stallings running for Mayor of Thomaston

First Posted: 6:30 am - August 21st, 2015

By Larry Stanford - lstanford@civitasmedia.com

J. D. Stallings
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

While there are no major national, state or county posts up for election this November, residents of the cities of Thomaston and Yatesville will still have decisions to make that the polls, as both towns have elections for Mayor and two City Council positions on the ballots.


Mayor Hays Arnold is coming to the end of his third term in office, and he announced last year that he will not be seeking reelection, leaving the mayoral post wide open for candidates.

To date, Third District Council member J. D. Stallings is the only candidate to publically announce that he is running for mayor. Stallings made his announcement at the August 4 city council meeting.

“After many prayers from me and many individuals, and approval from work, I have decided that I will be entering the mayoral race this year, which means I will have to resign my position when I qualify,” Stallings said. “I hate having to step down, but I’m encouraged and feel like this is what I’m supposed to be doing, and I would like your support and input on this race.”

There are also two city council seats on the ballot, Districts 1 and 2, and both incumbents stated in February that they would be seeking reelection.

District 1 Council member Gary Atwater has been on the council since 2001.

District 2 Council member Patsy Perdue is serving her second term on the council.

While there has been talk of several other citizens running for council seats, depending on the district they live in, only James Harris has said he is running for a council position.

Qualifying for Mayor of Thomaston and the District 1 and District 2 council seats is August 31 through September 4, 2015. The qualifying fee to run for Mayor is $108, and the qualifying fee to run for a District post is $72. The fees set equal three percent of the gross salary for each position.


The City of Yatesville will also see a new person at the helm, as Mayor Cecil Moncrief announced in May that he will not seek reelection. Moncrief has been mayor for more than 13 years and has said that he has never had a vote cast for him, since he has never had opposition, therefore no election has been needed.

To date, no one has announced plans to run for Mayor of Yatesville.

Also on the ballot will be the City Council seats currently held by Phyl Gatlin and Shane Moore. Neither of the incumbents have announced if they plan to seek reelection, nor has anyone come forward seeking the posts.

Qualify for Mayor of Yatesville and the two council positions will be September 2-4. Qualifying fees are $30 for mayor and $24 for the city council positions.

Larry Stanford may be reached at 706-647-5414 or on Twitter @LarryStanford7.

J. D. Stallings
http://thomastontimes.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/web1_J.-D.-Stallings.jpgJ. D. Stallings
J. D. Stallings running for Mayor of Thomaston

By Larry Stanford




Stock Market

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com